Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC (The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford and No Country for Old Men), Robert Elswit, ASC (There Will Be Blood), Janusz Kaminski (The Diving Bell and the Butterfly) and Seamus McGarvey, BSC (AtonementAt) are the nominees for top honors in the Feature Film category in the 22nd Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards competition. The winner will be announced in Los Angeles during the awards celebration on January 26, at the

Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom. Deakins is the first cinematographer to claim two nominations in one year in the ASC Feature Film category. He has been nominated five times previously and won twice, for both The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There. This is the fourth ASC nomination for Kaminski, the second for Elswit, and the first for McGarvey. 

“In the opinion of their peers, these four talented individuals have set the contemporary standard for artful cinematography in a very competitive field,” says Russ Alsobrook, ASC who chairs the organization’s Awards Committee. “They were nominated for distinctly different genre films. The common denominator is that they all succeeded in helping to create a sense of time and place while evoking emotional responses that were in tune with the intentions of the actors and directors.”

For more information about the 22nd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement awards, visit or call 323-969-4333.