NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts was well represented at the 61at annual Primetime Emmy Awards on September 20th; Tisch alumni won five Emmy Awards, out of 51 Emmy nominations received by alumni this year. The Tisch alumni who received Emmy awards this year included Alec Baldwin (Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series – “30 Rock”), Steve Bodow, David Javerbaum and Elliot Kalan (Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music, or Comedy Series – “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart”), as well as Lorne Michaels of the Tisch Dean’s Council (Outstanding Comedy Series – “30 Rock”)

Sheila Nevins, a former instructor at Tisch and president of HBO Documentary Films, received this year’s Governors Award at the 2009 Creative Arts Emmys held on September 12th. Nevins states that “As part of the faculty of Tisch for a brief period, I was always astounded by the talent and devotion of the students I taught—or should I say taught me. Whatever the selection process, the students at Tisch shone brightly and so their future success has never been a surprise to me.”

Over the years, Tisch alumni have now won 75 Emmy Awards, in addition to 20 Academy Awards and 22 Tony Awards. For more information on the Tisch School of the Arts visit http://www.tisch.nyu.edu.