Connect with us

Online Critics Name The Hurt Locker Best Picture

Online Critics Name The Hurt Locker Best Picture

Articles - Acting

The Online Film Critics Society, an organization comprised of Internet-based film journalists, has named Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker the best film of 2009. The film, about Iraq War explosives experts, also took home the awards for Best Director, Best Actor (Jeremy Renner) and Best Editing (Chris Innis and Bob Murawski). Fellow Best Picture nominee Inglourious Basterds also won four awards, those being Best Actress (Melanie Laurent), Best Supporting Actor (Christoph Waltz), Best Original Screenplay (Quentin Tarantino) and Best Cinematography (Robert Richardson).

Other winners included Anvil! The Story of Anvil (Best Documentary), Up (Best Animated Feature) and The White Ribbon (Best Picture Not in the English Language).

The complete list of winners for the 2009 OFCS Awards is as follows:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker
Best Actress: Melanie Laurent, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds
Best Adapted Screenplay: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, Fantastic Mr. Fox, based on a book by Roald Dahl
Best Documentary: Anvil!: The Story of Anvil
Best Picture Not in the English Language: The White Ribbon
Best Animated Feature: Up
Best Cinematography: Robert Richardson, Inglourious Basterds
Best Score: Michael Giacchino, Up
Best Editing: Chris Innis and Bob Murawski, The Hurt Locker

For more information on the Online Film Critics Society, visit or

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Articles - Acting

To Top