The Sundance Film Festival has announced this year’s winners in the Jury, Audience and NEXT categories.

Of the 3,724 feature-length films submitted to Sundance this year, only 117 of them were selected to participate in the festival. “Great films make for a great festival,” says John Cooper, who took over the role of Sundance director earlier this year. “This year it was as if I could feel a shift in the DNA of the film community—the reaction to the films was inspiring.” Also new this year to Sundance was the NEXT category, a program of low-budget independent productions.

The winners of the Jury, Audience, and NEXT awards at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival are as follows:

Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Winter’s Bone, directed by Debra Granik
Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – Restrepo, directed by Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington
World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic – Animal Kingdom (Australia), directed by David Michôd
World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary – The Red Chapel (Denmark), directed by Mads Brügger

Audience Award: Dramatic – happythankyoumoreplease, directed by Josh Radnor
Audience Award: Documentary – Waiting for Superman, directed by Davis Gugggenheim
World Cinema Audience Award: Dramatic — Contracorriente (Peru, Colombia, France, Germany), directed by Javier Fuentes-Leõn
World Cinema Audience Award: Documentary – Wasteland (United Kingdom, Brazil), directed by Lucy Walker

Best of NEXT Award: Homewrecker, directed by Todd Barnes and Brad Barnes

For a complete list of winners, including winners in the editing, directing and cinematography categories, visit