For its annual Emerging Cinematographers Awards, the International Cinematographers Guild (ICG) selected just seven honorees from a pool of 60 short films submitted by ICG members not yet rated as DPs.

ICG president Steven Poster is excited to bring these up-and-comers out into the world and describes the awards as a platform “to honor the best of the new. We get to demonstrate the talents of seven exciting cinematographers. We hope this will be the first time of many that you will see these artists on the screen.”

The honorees, whose films were selected by a panel of experienced cinematographers, will be presented with their awards at the Directors Guild of America on September 21st, at which point they will also have the pleasure of seeing their work screened before an audience. They include: Layton Blaylock (Spring Cleaning), Josh Ellis (The 17th Man), Rachael Levine (Jesus Cooks Me Breakfast), Gerry O’Malley (Demption), Michael Svitak (Noisemaker), Aaron Medick (Para-Normal) and Eduardo Mayen (Singularity). The 2008 runners-up are: Suad Kutlug (Lola), James O’Keefe (Cruel Logic) and Mark Williams (Love).

For more information, visit