Connect with us

No Country For Old Men Wins PGA Awards Top Honor

No Country For Old Men Wins PGA Awards Top Honor

Articles - Moviemaking

No Country for Old Men took the Producers Guild of America’s highest annual honor Saturday night, picking up the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award. No Country producers Scott Rudin and Joel and Ethan Coen received the award at the PGA’s annual awards dinner at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Having also claimed top prizes from the Screen Actors Guild and the Directors Guild, No Country for Old Men, written and directed by the Coen brothers, is emerging as a front-runner for the Academy Awards. With eight Oscar nominations, the film is tied with Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be Blood for the most nominations for any film this year. No Country’s star Javier Bardem has also taken several awards, including the Golden Globe and SAG Award, for Best Supporting Actor.

Veteran producer Rudin paid tribute to the Coens at Saturday’s dinner. “The only reason I’m standing here is because of these two gentleman,” Rudin said. “They’re remarkable artists and great collaborators who for 25 years have made pretty much a movie a year, all of them extraordinary.”

Ratatouille was awarded the producing prize in the animated film category while Michael Moore’s Sicko won the documentary award.

The PGA also presented career prizes to Warner Bros. President & COO Alan Horn, who received the guild’s Milestone Award, and to producing couple Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, who were awarded the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. Kennedy and Marshall, frequent collaborators with Steven Spielberg, are producers of the upcoming Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, starring Harrison Ford and Shia LaBeouf.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Articles - Moviemaking

To Top