The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the winners of the Richard Moore Heritage Award for outstanding achievement in student moviemaking. Benjamin Bakshi from the American Film Institute (AFI) won the graduate category, and Garrett Shannon from Loyola Marymount University won the undergraduate contest. “Both of these talented young filmmakers earned top honors in an extraordinarily competitive environment,” says ASC President Michael Goi. “This award was designed to encourage talented student filmmakers to follow their dreams and pursue careers as cinematographers.”

Honorable mentions went to graduate students Jeff Powers (AFI) and Jay Visit (University of Southern California), and undergraduates Boa Simon (Chapman University) and co-cinematographers Ryan Carmody and Masaki Imai (California State University – Northridge).

Each year the ASC Heritage Award is rededicated in memory of an individual who advanced the skill of cinematography. This year the award will be presented in the name of Richard Moore (Annie, The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean, Sometimes a Great Notion, The Reivers) a talented cinematographer and co-founder of Panavision. “Richard Moore was a generous human being who always had time for students and other young filmmakers,” says Isidore Mankofsky, ASC chairman of the Education Committee. “His passion for the art and craft of telling stories with moving images lives on in many ways.”

The 24th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration will take place on February 27. For more information on the ASC visit: